ECNC Board

The ECNC Board is the highest decision-making organ of ECNC. The full Board is composed of persons with considerable working experience in national and subnational policymaking fields related to conservation and sustainable use of nature and biodiversity, persons in international institutions active in European nature and biodiversity conservation and sustainable use, and persons with large relevant networks, experience and expertise, for example in science or the corporate sector.



Prof dr Mustafa Kemal Yalınkılıç
Former Director-General of the Turkish Ministry of Environment and Forestry


Ms Ivonne Higuero, Acting Deputy Director Forests, Land and Housing Division, United Nations Economic Commission of Europe – UNECE, Geneva, Switzerland



Prof dr Sjur Baardsen
University of Life Sciences



Dr Jan Rammeloo
Former Director of the National Botanic Garden



Mr Rob Wolters
Executive Director of ECNC


  • Prof. Alexander Leonidovich Zamuraev, Director of the All-Russian Research Institute for Nature Protection, Russian Federation
  • Dr Magnus Sylvén, former Chairman of the Large Herbivore Foundation, former Director of WWF Europe/Middle East Programme at WWF International, Switzerland 
  • Mr Gábor Szilágyi, Director Hortobágy National Park, Hungary, former Director of Kiskunsági National Park, Hungary, EU expert for Baltic States
  • Mr Béla Jankovich de Jeszenice, Owner of Amber Investment and Managing Director of Jankovich Birtok estate, Hungary
  • Ms Ivana Vojinovic, Deputy Minister at Ministry of Sustainable Development and Tourism, Montenegro
  • Mr Vangelis Divaris, former head of units of the European Commission’s Directorate-General of Agriculture and former-Secretary-General of the Greek Ministry for Rural Development and Food, Greece

Honorary board members and ambassadors



Honorary President
Sir Brian Unwin
United Kingdom

  • Ms Niki Goulandris-Kefala, former ECNC Vice-President, Greece
  • Dr Antonio Machado, former ECNC President, Spain
  • Dr János Tardy, former ECNC Vice-President, Hungary
  • Mr Ronald Loudon, former ECNC Vice-President, the Netherlands


  • Director of the Department of Nature of the Dutch Ministry of Economic Affairs, represented by Mr Rob van Brouwershaven, Director for Nature and Biodiversity
  • Dr Philip Buckley, Department of Arts, Culture and the Gaeltacht, Ireland
  • Mr Gabriel Schwaderer, Executive Director, European Nature Heritage Fund (EuroNatur), Germany
  • Mr Hendrik Oosterveld, President ECNC Land & Sea Group